Photo 1
Photo 2
Photo 3
Photo 4
Photo 5
Photo 6
Photo 7
Photo 8
Photo 9
Photo 10
Photo 11
Photo 12
Photo 13
Photo 14
Photo 15
Photo 16
Photo 17
Photo 18
Photo 19
Photo 20
Photo 21
Photo 22
Photo 23
Photo 24
Photo 25
Photo 26
Photo 27
Photo 28
Photo 29
Photo 30
Photo 31
Photo 32
Photo 33
Photo 34
Photo 35
Photo 36
Photo 37
Photo 38
Photo 39
Photo 40
Photo 41
Photo 42
Photo 43
Photo 44
Photo 45
Photo 46
Photo 47
Photo 48
Photo 49

Cuckoo Barn at Penygaer farm near the Brecon Beacons

9.7/1037 reviewsLlandovery

Sustainable Holiday Home with Stunning Mountain Views Garden and BBQ Facilities: Enjoy the lush garden and barbecue area for a relaxing outdoor experience. Spacious Interior: With 3 bedrooms, 2 living rooms, and a fireplace, unwind in comfort and style. Convenient Amenities: From a fully equipped kitchen to free WiFi, this non-smoking property has everything you need for a perfect getaway. Book now to experience the tranquility of Cuckoo Barn at Penygaer farm near the Brecon Beacons.

What this place offers

  • WiFi available
  • Free WiFi
  • Parking
  • Free Parking
  • Heating
  • Terrace

Policies & house rules

  • Check-in from 16:00 until 00:00
  • Check-out until 10:00
  • Children welcome
  • Free parking

This property does not accommodate bachelor(ette) or similar parties. Please inform of your expected arrival time in advance. You can use the Special Requests box when booking, or contact the property directly using the contact details in your confirmation. A deposit may be required at the property.

Available rooms

Select dates to see available rooms

Select dates to see the price

You won't be charged yet

37 reviews

Guests liked

  • Great communication
  • Fantastic location
  • Very spacious rooms
  • Amazing under floor heating

Guests mentioned

  • Quite a bit off the main road
  • Perhaps a few baking trays could be updated
  • Shelly

    GB · solo_traveller · Jul 2026

    1/10

    Disappointing Stay Due to Mice and Host's Response

    Our stay was disappointing due to both a pest issue and the host's handling of our concerns. On our first night, we could hear scratching noises behind the walls. The following morning, we discovered mouse droppings in the kitchen area and informed the host later that day. The host cleaned the droppings and placed bait around the property. While we appreciated that action was taken, we were concerned about the presence of mice. After we contacted Booking.com regarding the issue, the host revoked a previously agreed late checkout on the morning of our departure. We only saw the message shortly before the revised checkout time, leaving us with around 30 minutes to leave the property. We were also told that the late checkout could be reinstated if we accepted it as compensation and withdrew our complaint to Booking.com. When we left, the host stopped our car to discuss the matter. What should have been a simple departure turned into an uncomfortable conversation in which we felt cornered and intimidated. The host described us as "devious" for contacting Booking.com and repeatedly downplayed our concerns, stating that mice do not bite and they are to be expected in Wales. Our concerns were about being bitten, hygiene, health and safety. Despite several attempts to end the conversation, it continued until we pointed out that revoking the late checkout and confronting us as we left was inappropriate. The host acknowledged that the late checkout had been withdrawn because he was upset that we had contacted Booking.com. Pest issues can happen, but how they are handled matters. We left feeling that our concerns were dismissed and that raising a legitimate issue resulted in retaliation. The host ultimately refused to provide any meaningful compensation for the disruption and discomfort caused by the pest issue during our stay. Based on this experience, we would not stay here again.

  • Fleet

    GB · extended_group · Jun 2026

    10/10
  • Maria Dolores

    GB · extended_group · Apr 2026

    9/10
  • Danielle

    GB · extended_group · Jan 2026

    10/10

    The barn was in a lovely quiet location and very well presented. We would definitely return!

  • Jonathan

    GB · family_with_children · Nov 2025

    10/10

    Great communication from Jon, fantastic location

Location

Cuckoo Barn Penygaer · Llandovery